Awards of Excellence in Chemical Engineering

The Chemical Engineering Awards provide a showcase for outstanding achievement in the field of Chemical Engineering. IChemE in New Zealand, IChemE in Australia, The Engineers Australia Chemical College, IPENZ and RACI, in partnership with corporate sponsors, have instituted these awards to encourage and recognise excellence and to highlight the contribution made to the community by New Zealand and Australia Chemical Engineers.

Nominations for the 2018 Awards of Excellence in Chemical Engineering will open soon.

The 2018 Awards of Excellence will be presented on Tuesday 2 October 2018 at the Chemeca 2018 conference dinner.

Awards of Excellence

  • The Chemeca Medal

This is the most prestigious award in the chemical engineering profession in New Zealand and Australia. It is awarded to a prominent New Zealand or Australian Chemical Engineer who has made an outstanding contribution, through achievement or service, to the practice of Chemical Engineering in its widest sense and who continues to serve the profession. The recipient of the Award is invited to present a plenary lecture at the annual Chemeca conference.

  • The Chemical Engineering Research Excellence Award (AUD$5,000 and certificate)

This award recognises significant ongoing contributions to chemical engineering research through innovation, related publications or high impact commercial outcomes.

  • The Thyssenkrupp Industrial Solutions Medal and Prize

Recognises practical services to the profession and to the practice of chemical engineering in New Zealand or Australia. Achievements may be in technical, marketing or management fields. Nominations can be made either by individuals themselves or by nomination from others. The candidate must be a member of IChemE in New Zealand, IChemE in Australia, IChemE, Engineers Australia, IPENZ or RACI and must be under 40 years of age.    

  • The Fonterra Award (AUD$5,000 and certificate)

Recognises outstanding contributions in the industrial application of novel technology in the bioprocessing field from a chemical engineer in New Zealand or Australia. Achievements may be in a technical or management field. The candidate must be a member of IChemE in New Zealand, IChemE in Australia, Engineers Australia, IPENZ or RACI.  

  • IChemE Safety Centre Award (AUD$5,000 and certificate)

Recognises personal commitment and leadership by an engineer or scientist working in a team or individually in the area of process safety. Applicants would have to demonstrate outstanding leadership and/or commitment to process safety and/or the environment during design, construction or operation of a process plant.

Other awards

  • Prize for the best student paper (AUD$1,000)

Fell Consulting Pty Ltd provide funds for the 'Chemeca 2018 Prize for the best paper by a student'.  The gaining of this prize is an important first step in a graduate's career.

  • The R.K. Murphy Medal (RACI)

The R.K. Murphy medal is the most prestigious award presented by the Royal Australian Chemical Institute, Industrial Chemistry Division for outstanding achievements in chemical engineering, process chemistry or related areas in the chemical industry.

  • The John A Brodie Medal

The John A Brodie Medal is awarded by The Chemical College Board of Engineers Australia for the best paper in the discipline of chemical engineering presented at the Chemeca Conference.